American Tapestry Biennial Eight (ATB8)

Opening Venue

ATB8 opens September 20, 2010 at the Elder Gallery at Nebraska Wesleyan University in Lincoln, Nebraska and runs through November 15, 2010. The artists’ reception will be Thursday, October 7th form 6:00-9:00pm. This venue coincides with the Textile Society of America’s symposium, “Textiles and Settlement: From Plains Space to Cyber Space.” ATB8 will also be featured in a TSA Site Seminar on Friday, October 8th. More information about the TSA meetings may be found here:
The second venue for ATB8 is the American Textile History Museum in Lowell, Massachusetts, January 22, 2011 - May 1, 2011. ATA is very lucky to be partnering with this prestigious museum. Two artists will be giving talks:
March 13, 2011, 2:00pm: Susan Martin Maffei “Under the Influence, or Is It Just Inspiration?”
April 10, 2011, 2:00 pm: Anne Jackson “Anne Jackson: Knotted Tapestries”
Support for these lectures was generously provided by members of Tapestry Weavers in New England (TWINE)
ATB8 is supported by grants from the Friends of Fiberart International, the Teitelbaum Trust Legacy Gift and ATA’s membership.

Accepted artists and country

Janet Austin, USA
Joan Baxter, UK
Liev Beuten-Schellekens, Belgium
Archie Brennan, USA
Marie-Thumette Brichard, France
Anne Brodersen, Denmark
Don Burns, USA
Janet Clark, UK
Manuella Cocchis, USA
Lynn Cornelius, USA
Line Dufour, Canada
Elaine Duncan, Canada
Lany Eila, USA
Joanna Foslien, USA
Jane Freear-Wyld, UK
Marianne Haller, USA
Barbara Heller, Canada
Jennie Henderson, USA
Susan Hart Henegar, USA
Agneta Henerud, Sweden
Susan Iverson, USA
Anne Jackson, UK
Urban R. Jupena, USA
Mary Kester, USA
Maximo Laura, Peru
Susan Martin Maffei, USA
Lynn Mayne, USA
Anna-Byrd Mays, USA
Rebecca Mezoff, USA
Julia Mitchell, USA
Ulrikka Mokdad, Denmark
Ann Naustdal, Norway
John Nicholson, USA
Inge Norgaard, USA
Eve Pearce, USA
Christine Pradel-Lien, USA
Suzanne Pretty, USA
Elisabeth Quick, USA
Linda Rees, USA
Michael F. Rohde, USA
Deann Rubin, USA
Kristin Saeterdal, Norway
Joann Sanburg, USA
Jennifer Sargent, USA
Kathy Spoering, USA
Elinor Steele, USA
Becky Stevens, USA
Sarah Swett, USA
Kathe Todd-Hooker, USA
Christina Utsch, Germany
Dorothea Van De Winkel, Belgium
Linda Wallace, Canada
Pat Williams, USA
Mary Zicafoose, USA



Rebecca A.T. Stevens, Consulting Curator of Contemporary Textiles at the Textile Museum, Washington, D.C.


For the first time, through the generosity of the Teitelbaum family, ATB8 entries are eligible for the Teitelbaum Family Awards.
First Place-$300.00 and Second Place-$200.00. The juror, Rebecca A. T. Stevens will select the winning tapestries.

"Divided Landscapes"
by Suzanne Pretty

"Shiva Dances"
by Barbara Heller

"Nesting #2"
by Inge Norgaard

"Hang Up and Draw"
by Sarah Swett